Tricks and tips for everyone


How many countries colonized Africa in all?

How many countries colonized Africa in all?

By 1900 a significant part of Africa had been colonized by mainly seven European powers—Britain, France, Germany, Belgium, Spain, Portugal, and Italy. After the conquest of African decentralized and centralized states, the European powers set about establishing colonial state systems.

Which African countries were colonized and by who?

A number of regions such as the Congo and the Sahara Desert had no organized states.

  • Morocco – 1912, to France.
  • Libya – 1911, to Italy.
  • Fulani Empire – 1903, to France and the United Kingdom.
  • Swaziland – 1902, to the United Kingdom.
  • Ashanti Confederacy – 1900, to the United Kingdom.
  • Burundi – 1893, to Germany.

Which African countries colonized?

The Colonial Names of Present-Day African States

Africa, 1914 Africa, 2015
Liberia Liberia
British Colonies
Anglo-Egyptian Sudan Sudan, The Republic of the South Sudan
Basutoland Lesotho

Who Colonised Ethiopia?

Ethiopia is Africa’s oldest independent country and its second largest in terms of population. Apart from a five-year occupation by Mussolini’s Italy, it has never been colonised.

Who colonized Uganda?

The Protectorate of Uganda was a protectorate of the British Empire from 1894 to 1962.

Who colonized Zambia?

the British South Africa Company
Zambia’s colonization began in 1888 when the British South Africa Company secured mineral rights in the area. It became a British Protectorate in 1899, being governed as part of Barotziland-North-Western Rhodesia. Zambia became an independent country in 1964.

Who colonized Botswana?

The British
The British colonised the land of the Batswana in 1885 as a way of blocking possible alliance between the Boers in the Transvaal and the Germans in South West Africa (Namibia). The British called the territory Bechuanaland Protectorate.

Related Posts