Tricks and tips for everyone


Where can I file a complaint against my landlord in Michigan?

Where can I file a complaint against my landlord in Michigan?

MDCR at 800-482-3604 or [email protected]. HUD at 800-669-9777 or You can also file a complaint online or request information below.

What are the civil penalties for a fair housing violation in Michigan?

Penalties for Violating the Michigan Fair Housing Act? Violating the Michigan Housing Laws can carry significant financial and legal penalties. For example: $10,000 for first-time violators and $50,000 for a third violation within 7 years. Additionally, you may need to pay court costs and attorney fees.

What are the two acts that make up Michigan’s Fair Housing Law?

In particular, the federal Fair Housing Act, the Michigan Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act, and local fair housing ordinances provide the basis for fair housing protection throughout West Michigan.

Who does the Fair Housing law protect?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex (including gender identity and sexual orientation), disability, familial status, or national origin.

Can I sue my landlord for emotional distress in Michigan?

You can receive compensation for your physical pain and suffering, mental anguish, disability, and loss of enjoyment of life. These are known as non-economic damages. In addition, you can claim economic damages.

What are my rights as a renter in Michigan?

Tenant Responsibilities in Michigan Aside from paying rent in a timely fashion, Michigan tenants must: Keep the unit safe and in a habitable condition. Keep the unit clean and sanitary. Make small repairs and maintenance.

Which of the following is permitted under the Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act is a federal law enacted in 1968 that prohibits discrimination in the purchase, sale, rental, or financing of housing—private or public—based on race, skin color, sex, nationality, or religion.

Can you withhold rent for repairs in Michigan?

Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent in Michigan Tenants may withhold rent or exercise the right to “repair and deduct” if a landlord fails to take care of important repairs, such as a broken heater. For specifics, see Michigan Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent or “Repair and Deduct”.

Can a landlord refuse Section 8 in Michigan?

Landlords are not legally required to accept Section 8 vouchers and may turn you down if you want to use vouchers. However, it is illegal for them to refuse to rent to you because you have a disability.

Related Posts