Tricks and tips for everyone


How much does it cost to expunge a record in Illinois?

How much does it cost to expunge a record in Illinois?

How much does it cost? Getting your record expunged or sealed will cost you a filing fee at the courthouse plus $60 for the Illinois State Police. Some local law enforcement agencies may also charge a processing fee. Filing fees vary from county to county and may be obtained from the appropriate Circuit Clerk.

What qualifies for expungement in Illinois?

You may be immediately statutorily eligible for an expungement if the final disposition of your case was that charges were: dropped, dismissed, acquitted (not guilty) or arrested without charging. This is true regardless of whether you were charged with a felony or a misdemeanor.

Can you get your record expunged in Illinois?

To have your record expunged and destroyed, you must file and prosecute a Petition to Expunge in the County where your case concluded. Illinois felony expungement law allows certain felonies to be expunged. If your case does not qualify for expungement, you may be able to seal it.

How long does it take to expunge a record in Illinois?

about six months
After the petition is filed, the state’s attorney, the state police, and all other notified parties have 60 days to object. If the judge grants the petition, an order is entered, and all state agencies are given 60 days to expunge or seal the record. The total process typically takes about six months.

How can I get my record expunged for free in Illinois?

If you cannot afford the Circuit Clerk Filing Fee or the Illinois State Police Processing Fee, you can ask the court to waive them. You can find a fee waiver form, which can be used to waive fees in expungement and sealing cases, at:

How do you get a pardon in Illinois?

The process is started by submitting a Petition for Clemency with the Illinois Prisoner Review Board. This petition must include all of the information about your case and provide the reasons why you should be granted a pardon by the Governor.

What Cannot be expunged in Illinois?

Most misdemeanor and felony convictions qualify for sealing in Illinois, but some—including driving under the influence, domestic battery, animal care crimes, and most sex offenses—do not.

How can I get my record expunged in Illinois for free?

What crimes Cannot be expunged in Illinois?

The following offenses do not qualify for a Certificate of Sealing:

  • Sex offenses.
  • Crimes of violence.
  • Domestic Violence cases, including: Aggravated Assault. Violation of an Order of Protection. Domestic Battery. Aggravated Battery. Aggravated Domestic Battery.
  • Gun cases.
  • Driving Under the Influence cases.

Do I need a lawyer to expunge my record in Illinois?

You do not have to have a lawyer to seal or expunge your record, but you may decide to hire one to help with the process. RESOURCES ON EXPUNGEMENT AND SEALING RECORDS: Illinois Attorney General’s Office website at:

How much does it cost to get a pardon in Illinois?

Our fee is broken into two parts. The first fee covers the application….Take our online eligibility test to find out exactly. how you can remove your criminal records.

Pardon Our Law Firm Typical Law Firm
Price* $3,500.00 $5,000.00
Money-Back Guarantee** no No
Payment Plans Yes No
Low-Price Guarantee Yes No

What felonies can be expunged in Illinois?

What Felonies Can Be Sealed in Illinois?

  • Sex offenses.
  • Violent crimes.
  • Domestic violence crimes (including assault, violation of an order of protection, domestic battery, aggravated battery, aggravated assault and aggravated domestic battery)
  • Gun crimes.
  • Drunk driving crimes.

How long does pardon take in Illinois?

The process to receive Executive Clemency or Pardon in Illinois is very lengthy. The process takes at least 12 months, although they generally take several years. Each case is different and the Prisoner Review Board and Governor have complete discretion over the process.

How do I request a pardon in Illinois?

In order to get a pardon in Illinois, you have to petition the governor’s office. It’s called executive clemency, and the governor has the authority to approve or deny your petition.

What crimes Cannot be sealed in Illinois?

How do I write a letter to pardon myself?

Introduce yourself. Begin your letter by stating your name and place of residence as well as any other required or relevant information regarding your identity. State clearly and succinctly that you are writing to support the person’s application for a pardon.

How do I file a clemency in Illinois?

The Big Picture

  1. File executive clemency petition before the public hearing date.
  2. Type and print your petition.
  3. Gather other documents.
  4. Get the petition notarized and make copies.
  5. Mail your petition to the state’s attorney’s office and your sentencing judge.
  6. Mail petition to the Prison Review Board.

How long does a pardon take?

Finally, there is a processing time with the federal government for final approval that also takes time depending on the case. So the long answer to how long it takes to get a pardon is usually 12-18 months from start to finish but again, this timeline can vary depending on the file.

What is a clemency letter?

A letter of clemency is just that: a letter asking a court to show mercy on a person convicted of a crime. So keep the main aim of the letter in mind as you write it. Explain carefully why you feel the person you are writing the letter for should be granted mercy.

How do you ask for a pardon?

The final decision on whether to issue a pardon rests with the President. To request a pardon, an individual seeking a pardon submits a formal application to the Office of the Pardon Attorney.

What are the DUI laws in Illinois?

– The misdemeanor is charged to the people with the BAC at .08. – The one would be charged as a regular DUI under misdemeanor. – Simply mentioned, the misdemeanor is charged to the individual if he has a blood alcohol level at or over .08. – Felony

What are the eviction laws in Illinois?

Serve the tenant with a written statement giving a legally valid reason for the eviction and the correct amount of days’ notice for them to comply.

  • If the tenant does not comply with the eviction notice the landlord can file a complaint with a local court and a summons will be served.
  • The tenant and landlord can make their case in court.
  • Can You expunge a juvenile record in Illinois?

    You can only ask the state of Illinois to expunge certain parts of a juvenile record, including: Arrests when you were not charged with a crime; Dismissals; Juvenile convictions for “lesser crimes,” such as Class B and Class C misdemeanors “Not guilty” verdicts; Sentences of supervision

    What is the felony procedure in Illinois?

    the interim period, the county will assign a prosecutor. If you have been charged with a felony, the prosecution will arrange a draft indictment for presentation to a Grand Jury. This is a process that ensures your constitutional rights are being protected.

    Related Posts