Tricks and tips for everyone


Are there different types of mala beads?

Are there different types of mala beads?

There are many different types of mala beads, from necklaces to bracelets each mala has its own special characteristics. Full-size mala necklaces are traditionally comprised of 108 beads plus 1 guru bead with a tassel, charm, or other special pendants.

What do different mala beads mean?

Wearing orange beads can help you to increase feelings of enthusiasm and joy within yourself. Carnelian: improves motivation, promotes positivity, encourages success. Amber: attracts good luck, eliminates fears. Goldstone: increases energy, encourages ambition, promotes courage and confidence.

How many types of mala are there?

The main body of a mala is usually 108 beads of roughly the same size and material as each other though smaller versions, often factors of 108 such as 54 or 27, exist. A distinctive 109th “guru bead”, not used for counting, is very common….

Sanskrit name
Sanskrit mālā (माला)

Which mala should I use?

If you are looking for traditional mala beads, then 108 beads mala is ideal. For ease of use and shorter mediation practice or japa, you can select between 54 or 27 beads mala. Smaller malas are also easy to carry and store.

Can we wear 54 bead mala?

No. Traditionally, the number of beads is 108 plus one, the bindu. It’s recommended that an adult should not wear a mala with less than 84 beads, plus the bindu – but any number over that is fine!

How do I activate mala?

A traditional mantra for activating and sealing in the energy in your new rudraksha mala is “Om Hrim Namah Shivaya Om.” Chant this mantra at least three times. Sit for at least five minutes to seal the energetic bond. Once you have activated your mala beads, you may want to cleanse and clean them from time to time.

Can I wear 2 Rudraksha beads?

Related Posts